Peugeot to end Dakar programme after next year’s rally

31 October 2017

Peugeot, which won the Dakar Rally in both 2016 and 2017, has revealed it will end its programme for the challenge after the 2018 race.

The move was largely expected, after comments made Sebastien Loeb earlier this month hinted at an exit,  and Peugeot’s dissatisfaction with upcoming rule changes.

“As this will be the last Dakar for Peugeot, we would like to finish our amazing campaign on a high note,” said Peugeot Sport director Bruno Famin. “But as I always say you can’t count on anything in advance. The most difficult thing after winning is to do it again.”

The team will retain its drivers for the 2018 event. As well as Stephane Peterhansel, who won the event in both of the last two years, World Rally champions Carlos Sainz and Sebastien Loeb, and Dakar motorcycle winner Cyril Despres, will remain.


DTAfast logo
CRP Group
FERODO Racing Black background jpeg
Base Performance bps_logo_full_on_light_cmyk

Latest issue

FREE Newsletter

Stay up to date and a chance to win 1 Years Subscription*

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Latest Tweets

Stay up to date with our social world

RACE TECH magazine @RaceTechmag
20 Nov
Next year’s Aston Martin Vantage GTE ready for reveal
RACE TECH magazine @RaceTechmag
16 Nov
Lovely celebrating with @BoschMEMS @BoschGlobal who won the Motorsport Technology of the Year award at this year's…
RACE TECH magazine @RaceTechmag
15 Nov
Make sure you are up to date with our news feed using @AppleNewsUK You can find us here using an @Apple device…
RACE TECH magazine @RaceTechmag
15 Nov
F1 chiefs address concerns over new engine
RACE TECH magazine @RaceTechmag
9 Nov
Bentley reveals new Continental GT3
RACE TECH magazine @RaceTechmag
8 Nov
BMW confirms its partnership with RLL will continue next year
RACE TECH magazine @RaceTechmag
7 Nov
Volkswagen reveals new Polo GTi R5
RACE TECH magazine @RaceTechmag
2 Nov
Formula E's tech battlefields analysed @FIAformulaE Also don't miss the most innovative new motorsport products…