Formula One, Audi, Total and Racelogic win at the WMS Awards 2019

4 December 2019

Formula One’s head of aerodynamics, Jason Somverville, Audi Sport’s head of engine technology, Ulrich Baretzky, Racelogic and Total were all winners at the World Motorsport Symposium Awards, Motorsport’s most prestigious technical Awards ceremony.

The World Motorsport Symposium (WMS) Awards 2019 took place last night at the Millennium Hotel in London.

Formula One’s head of aerodynamics, Jason Somerville pick up the Dino Toso Racecar Aerodynamicist of the Year award for his part in F1’s 2021 aero research, just beating aerodynamicist, Herve Dechipre from Volkswagen for the VW ID.R.

The 2021 areo research, conducted by F1, FOM and Liberty will mean new 2021 F1 regulations resulting in a radical new design philosophy within F1, with a striking new look with sweeping bodywork, simplified front wings, bigger rear wings, increased underbody aerodynamics, wheel wake control devices, simplified suspension and low-profile tyres with 18-inch rims. Over several years, both Formula 1 and the FIA have been working tirelessly to design cars that can race more closely and will have a cleaner impact environmentally.

The Race Powertrain of the year Award was handed to Audi Sport and head of engine technology, Ulrich Baretzky. Baretzky beat off stiff competition from VW and Integral Powertrain for the electric motor as used to break records by the ID.R in 2018 and 2019.

However, Audi won due to the dawn of a new turbo era, which marked a watershed year for the DTM – and a glorious one for Audi. The switch from a V8 to an inline four presented the manufacturers with many challenges, not the least of which were dealing with the vibration and the sheer magnitude of the forces involved. In its first year of racing, Audi’s engineers extracted more than 610 horsepower from a powerplant with just two litres of displacement – around 100 bhp more than its predecessor with half the cylinder count and half the overall capacity. This was the most efficient and powerful engine in the company’s DTM history. The most successful one too: Audi won the drivers’, teams’ and manufacturers’ championships – the latter by a record margin of 582 points.

The Don Burgoon Award for the Most Innovative New Motorsport Product of the Year was awarded to Racelogic and VBox Motorsport for its VBOX 31S, which offers compact PS/Intertial sensor that offers extraordinary precision and accuracy. It beat Alcon, Cosworth, Evolution Measurement, LSP, Oerlikon Balzers, ZF and Poly-Shape.

The final Green Tech Award was handed to Total for its modular hydrogen filling systems and support of the ACO’s MissionH24 programme. The company beat stiff competition from Audi and Aral for the development its low carbon fuel low carbon fuel used in the 2019 DTM, Bcomp for its powerRibs and Ricardo for the 2019 Formula E transmission.



Latest issue

FREE Newsletter

Stay up to date and a chance to win 1 Years Subscription*

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Latest Tweets

Stay up to date with our social world

RACE TECH magazine @RaceTechmag
24 May